ADOS-2 (The Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule – Second Edition)

You’ve probably heard of autism before, but did you know that there are several types of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs)? The ASDs, which are diagnosed and assessed using various tools and assessments, such as the Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule, 2nd Edition (ADOS-2), include high functioning autism (HFA), Asperger syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder – not otherwise specified (PDD-NOS).

Autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) are neurodevelopmental conditions characterized by deficits in social communication, repetitive behaviors, restricted interests, and sensory processing. They affect approximately 1 in 68 children in the United States. There is no cure for these conditions, but early intervention helps improve outcomes with the help of Autism Evaluation.

It’s important to recognize the signs of ASD in young children because they can often go unnoticed until later stages of development. This is why it’s crucial to identify the symptoms early on. One way to do this is through screening tools such as the Autism Diagnostic Observation Scale (ADOS).

What Is ASD? Understanding Autism through ADOS-2

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a neurodevelopmental condition characterized by deficits in reciprocal social interaction and communication along with repetitive behaviors and restricted interests. Individuals with ASD often have difficulty interpreting nonverbal cues and understanding complex concepts. In addition, they tend to engage in stereotyped patterns of behavior, such as hand flapping or rocking back and forth.


Symptoms vary among people with ASD. However, some general indicators of ASD include difficulties with social interaction, language, and communication; unusual sensory responses; and repetitive behaviors. These symptoms appear early in childhood and persist throughout adulthood.

1. Intellectual Disability

Intellectual disability refers to significant limitations both in conceptual thinking and learning abilities. People who have intellectual disabilities need help to understand their environment and learn appropriate ways to interact with others.

2. Social Interaction

People with ASD often struggle with social interaction. They may not know what to say or do in certain situations, and they may lack awareness of others’ feelings and perspectives. They may show little interest in developing friendships or romantic relationships, and they may find it difficult to initiate conversations or respond appropriately to questions.

3. Communication Skills

Individuals with ASD may have problems expressing themselves verbally. They may use gestures instead of words, and they may repeat phrases or ask questions over and over again. They may have trouble communicating effectively with peers and adults.

4. Interests and Activities

People with ASD may have strong preferences for particular objects, activities, or environments. They may become fascinated with specific topics or spend long hours playing with small toys or gadgets.

Manual for Autism Diagnostic Observation Scale-Second Edition (ADOS-2)

This manual provides information about autism spectrum disorder (ASD) diagnosis using the Autism Diagnostic Observation Scale-Second Edition (ADOS-2). ADOS-2 was developed to assess whether children have ASD based on their behaviors. It consists of five modules that examine different aspects of communication, play, social interaction, imaginative use of materials, and repetitive behavior.

2. Developmental History

A developmental history is obtained from parents or caregivers who know the child best. Information collected includes the child’s birth date, sex, medical problems, family history, language skills, motor skills, cognitive abilities, and adaptive behaviors. Parents may report any concerns they have about their child’s development.

3. Current Functioning

The current functioning section contains questions about the child’s daily activities. Caregivers describe what the child does at home, school, and outside the home. Questions focus on the child’s strengths and difficulties in relation to his or her age peers. Teachers may also be asked to comment on the child’s academic performance and participation in class.

4. Adaptive Behavior Assessment System-II (ABAS-II)

The ABAS-II is a standardized test that measures functional limitations in eight domains of adaptive behavior. The eight domains are conceptual understanding, social skills, practical reasoning, personal autonomy, behavioral self-control, community use, home management, and safety awareness. The ABAS-II yields two scores: one score indicates the degree of impairment in each domain; the second score indicates the extent to which the individual’s impairments interfere with everyday function. To obtain the ABAS-II scores, the examiner asks the caregiver to rate the child’s functioning in each area on a scale ranging from 1 (no problem) to 4 (severe problem). A total score is calculated by adding together the ratings across the eight domains. Higher scores indicate greater levels of impairment.

5. Social Communication Questionnaire (Social Communication Questionnaire)

The SCQ is a screening tool designed to identify individuals with autism spectrum disorders (ASDs). It is intended for use by clinicians, teachers, and others familiar with young people with ASDs. The questionnaire focuses on four areas of interest in ASD: communication, reciprocal social interactions, restricted interests, repetitive behaviors, and sensory issues. The first three subscales were originally developed by Rutter et al., while the last subscale was added later. The original version of the questionnaire consisted of 40 items, while the revised version consists of 60 items. Both versions yield a total score and three subscale scores. The total score reflects the number of autistic traits present. Subscale scores reflect the frequency of particular behaviors observed.

6. Clinical Global Impression – Severity (CGI-S)

The CGI-S is a clinician-rated global assessment of symptom severity. It is rated on a 7-point Likert scale ranging from 1 (normal, not ill at all) to 7 (amongst the most extremely ill patients). The CGI-S is useful when making decisions regarding treatment options, monitoring changes in patient status over time, and determining prognosis.

Are you worried about your child being diagnosed with autism?

The Autism Diagnostic Observation Scale (ADOS) is an autism evaluation tool designed to measure social communication skills in children aged 2–8 years old. This test helps determine whether your child has autism or another developmental disorder such as Asperger syndrome.

Autism spectrum disorders affect approximately 1% of school-aged children worldwide. In some cases, symptoms appear early in life, whereas in other cases they emerge later in childhood.

“The ADOS-2 is a standardized assessment tool developed by researchers at the University of California Los Angeles,” says Dr. Michael Rutter, director of the UCLA Center for Autism Research. “It measures the severity of autistic behaviors across four domains: reciprocal social interaction, play, language, and stereotyped behavior.”

Back to top